Foundation Curriculum

In Reception children will continue their learning from the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS). The EYFS underpins all future learning and we deliver this curriculum by supporting children's learning, promoting and developing interest, intrigue and independence. We understand the importance of nuturing the characteristics of effective learning at this age and provide plentiful opportunity for children to practise the following learning styles in our daily provision. 

Playing and Exploring - Engagement

  • Finding out and exploring
  • Playing with what they know
  • Being willing to 'have a go'

Active Learning - Motivation

  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Keep trying
  • Enjoy achieving what they set out to do

Creating and Thinking Critically - Thinking

  • Having their own ideas
  • Making links
  • Choosing ways to do things

The curriculum is arranged into seven areas of learning and development:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Please click here for further information on Early Years Foundation Stage.

We adopt a safe, fun and stimulating approach for all the children. The environment children learn in is very important as it can work to enable their development and so the environment will often change with our point of interest. We take children off site to continue learning in varied environments, regularly to a local library, to the forest close by and a swimming pool, as well as other trips that are relevant at the time. 

We use the Oxford Reading Tree scheme to support the teaching of reading and Letters and Sounds program to support phonics.